D R A F T

PLANNING, RESOURCE AND BUDGET COMMITTEE Minutes May 1, 2015 1:00 PM – 2:30 PM CP-1060-05

Attendance

	Neha Ansari	\checkmark	Paul De Land	\checkmark	David McKenzie				
	Michael Badal	\checkmark	Mike DeMars	\checkmark	Robert Mead				
\checkmark	Emily Bonney		Berenecea Johnson Eanes	\checkmark	Bill Meyer				
	Erica Bowers		Mildred García	\checkmark	Andrea Patterson				
\checkmark	Jon Bruschke	\checkmark	Lori Gentles	\checkmark	Greg Saks				
	Ann Camp representing President Mildred García		Christa Johnson	\checkmark	Michael Shafae				
\checkmark	José Cruz		Danny Kim	\checkmark	Sora Tanjasiri				
	Amir Dabirian		Stacy Mallicoat						

Guests: Garcia, Hidalgo, Kopecky, Lynch for Eanes, Martinez for Badal, McMahan, Turnbow, Wong

I. Call to Order

• Chair Mead called the meeting to order at 1:03 pm.

II. Announcements

• Chair Mead congratulated Emily Bonney, Bill Meyer, and Mike DeMars for a seat on the Academic Senate

III. Approval of Minutes

- 3.1 Minutes April 24, 2015 (Draft)
- M/S/P De Land, Meyer includes approval of revised minutes from April 17

IV. New Business

- 4.1 Discussion of Preliminary Draft of Budget Memo
- Chair Mead shared and reviewed the three documents sent via email on April 30
 - Voting results recap of the six identified commitments for FY 15-16 (high, medium, low priority) from the April 24 meeting
 - List ranked in priority order based on a total calculated using a weighted 3-2-1 point basis
 - Initial draft/template of the FY 15-16 budget recommendation memo (similar to last year) from a meeting between Mead, De Land, and Bowers.

- Chair Mead solicited feedback from members. Discussion and suggestion items:
 - Brief discussion of structural deficits (employee and programs)–example: employee funded by one-time if position was not allocated with baseline funds
 - Use of carry forward balance, multi-year funding subject to revisions to address priorities
 - o Whether memo includes table/information from April 17 presentation
 - o Academic Master Plan address next year when implemented
 - Identify priorities within the buckets: "PRBC has identified the following in priority order..."
 - 'Mission Critical and Compliance Initiatives'–Title IX and Clery is part of a system-wide effort
 - 'Faculty Hiring and Tenure Track Density'-separate faculty equity program topic, include Part-Time Faculty Blanket with clearer language
 - 'Strategically Addressing Structural Deficits'-move section near the beginning of memo-address WASC followed by priority categories
 - 'Part-Time Faculty Blanket'-see 'Faculty Hiring and Tenure Track Density' Results of Climate Survey
 - 'Operationalizing University's Strategic Plan'–Include comment on the plan progress. Results of Climate Survey, McMahan will provide additional language to be included in section
 - Include suggestion of additional state revenue for deferred maintenance as an advocacy item
 - Conclusion-include mention of on-going obligations
- Chair Mead will edit the document as discussed and send out prior to the May 8 meeting

V. Adjournment

• M/S/P Dabirian, Meyer at 2:12 pm

Future items:

• May Budget Memo – rest of semester

Respectfully submitted: May Wong

PLANNING,RESOU	RCE&BUDGET	Set FRIDAY 1:00-2:30 PM 10 faculty, each College +Library					
Andrea Patterson	Apatterson	Liberal Studies	HUM	H-233A	7332	2015	
Michael Shafae	Mshafae	Computer Science	ECS	CS-540	3291	2015	
Erica Bowers	Ebowers	Reading	EDUC	CP-570-30	4530	2015	
Mike DeMars	Mdemars	Library	LIBRARY	PLS-273	4768	2015	
Bob Mead, Chair*	Rmead	Economics	MCBE	SGMH- 3398	4479	2015	
Stacey Mallicoat	Smallicoat	Polits, Admin & Justice	SOC SCI	UH-520	2132	2016	
Jon Bruschke*	Jbruschke	Human Comm Studies	COMM	CP-420-07	3272	2016	
Paul Deland	Deland	Mathematics	CNSM	MH-154B	3631	2016	
Bill Meyer	Wmeyer	Theatre and Dance	ARTS	CPAC-249	3179	2017	
Sora Tanjasiri	Stanjasiri	Health Science	HHD	KHS-121B	4592	2017	
Mildred Garcia	Mgarcia	President	ADMIN	CP-1000	3456	Non-	
Designee: Ann Camp	Acamp	Chief of Staff	ADMIN		8678	voting	
Jose Cruz	Jcruz	Provost/VPAA	ADMIN	CP-1060	2615	Ex-O Voting	
Berenecea Johnson Eanes	Bjeanes	VP Student Affairs	ADMIN			Ex-O Voting	
Danny C. Kim	Dkim	VP-Admin & Finance/CFO	ADMIN	LH-802	2115	Ex-O Voting	
Greg Saks	Gsaks	VP-UA	ADMIN	CP-850	7030	Ex-O Voting	
Amir Dabirian*	Adabirian	VP – IT	ADMIN	LH-700A	5000	Ex-O Voting	
Lori Gentles	Lgentles	VP-HR	ADMIN	CP-770	2425	Ex-O Voting	
David McKenzie	Dmckenzie	Asst Dean for HSS	STAFF	H-114	2969	Voting	
Christa Johnson	Chrijohnson	NSM	STAFF	MH-166D	4893	Voting	
Neha Ansari	asboardchair@fullert	ton.edu	Student			2015	
Michael Badal	asvicepresident@fuller	ton.edu	Student			2015	
Emily Bonney	Ebonney	Liberal Studies	HUM	H-233F	3975	Ex Liaison	